A Happy Weekend

I don’t think I mentioned we are taking prenatal classes. A friend told me about a lady who is famous in our city for the prenatal classes she teaches at the YMCA, so we signed up for those instead of the free ones through the health region. At the first class there were 170 people in the room because it was accidentally overbooked. That’s 85 pregnant women crammed in one classroom. It was such a weird feeling to be surrounded by that many pregnant women… and to be one of them. ย Thankfully, they’ve moved some of the other couples around and now there’s about 100 of us. We’ve taken 3 classes already and I understand why they are so famous. The instructor is an older lady with white hair and a total hippie (my kind of lady!). Every class she says and does things that you don’t expect and make you bust a gut laughing. For example, last class she was talking about how labour progresses and how to breath properly in each stage. She demonstrated deep breathing, mid-breathing and shallow breathing. And you know how she demonstrated this? By faking an orgasm, people. She started off deep breathing with oohhs and ahhhs and ended with the shallow breaths ofย yes! yes!ย I wish I could have recorded the various reactions of people in the class. There was a really innocent looking girl in the front row whose support person was her Mom and I wish I caught their reaction because I’m sure it was priceless. The class is at 8:00 pm on Thursdays. Sometimes I’m tired after work and don’t feel like leaving my house, but I know she’s going to be entertaining and funny so it’s easy to find the motivation to go. Thursdays are quickly becoming my favourite week night.

Friday night I was planning to go to one of my husband’s shows. I haven’t seen them play live in a long time and I thought it would be a fun night out. The venue was a fundraiser for the Sunday Art Market in our city and also a celebration of the arrival of Spring. It was going to be a very hippie event so I knew I’d like it. I’ve been to a show they did at the Art Market once before, and I loved the vibe of that place. Unfortunately, I found out they were scheduled to start at 11:30 pm and I knew it would be too late for me since I’m usually in bed by then. Instead, Andino took me out for supper before the show. We make date nights a priority because it makes me so happy to get dressed up and spend time together (and of course to eat good food I didn’t have to cook!) After supper, we got Andino’s nephew to take a few photos of us since we haven’t taken any together since I’ve been pregnant:

A Family Photo: (I couldn’t fix Lola’s eyes)
Love this one! photo picmonkey2_zps4a70689e.jpg

The classic pregnancy pose:
 photo 7d5420aa-5d0a-4aa6-848e-5e40c0d5f0a9_zps07477724.jpg

I like this one:
 photo 9ac4863e-86ad-412a-a978-091cc4a278c8_zpsad627dd3.jpg

On Saturday morning we went to the indoor farmer’s market which was really nice. I grew up going to the farmer’s market back home quite regularly with my Dad because he had a table there. Although the market here is a lot smaller in comparison, the vibe is the same and we picked up some delicious treats. We bought organic raspberry jam, a raspberry danish (SO GOOD!) butter tarts and cookies. (Do you think we have a sweet tooth?) We never buy store-bought treats because the preservatives in them upset our stomachs but since this was all homemade we bought lots!

Later that night, Andino’s band was playing at a fundraiser for Engineers Without Borders and I was able to go watch. We caught the end of a lecture on designing wells for developing countries which I thought was interesting. There were photographs of people and places in the developing world for sale that some of the Engineers had taken over their travels. Andino offered to buy me one for my office but since I only have 6 weeks left (30 working days!) I didn’t pick one out. The show was great and the crowd was dancing the whole time. I didn’t dance but I still had fun on the sidelines. Don’t you love people-watching? I looked at some of the Engineering students and thought about how much I’ve changed in the past 4 years since I’ve graduated University. How much I’ve grown and how I wouldn’t go back to being 23 again if given the chance. It was a good night.

So we had a busy weekend but it was nice. Andino and I spent a lot of quality time together and we got out of the house and did things which were different from our regular routine. I know once baby arrives our weekends will probably never be the same and I am looking forward to making new memories as a family of 3 (plus our dogs!)

What are your favourite things to do on the weekend?

18 thoughts on “A Happy Weekend

  1. Your class sounds fun but I can’t believe how many people are crammed in there!!! Insane! I hope ours is much smaller…we are going to a guru type lady too so it might be just as big. Weekends are always over so fast…its sad. I like to get a few household chores accomplished and B and I like to walk the dogs together. We usually go out to eat at least once and it seems like there is always one group of friends or the other that has a dinner party/get together happening. Its usually hard to fit it all in! Lately we have been focusing on one baby oriented project per weekend. Lots of cleaning crap out and donating to good will!!

    • Weekends are definitely over before you know it! I just like to do different things than I do during the week.

      Glad to hear you are making progress on the baby projects ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. What a beautiful family! I love cuddling with my pups on the couch and take advantage of that during downtime on the weekend. Your class sounds fantastic. I hope I can find one that entertaining if/when the time comes!

  3. O.M.G.This class sounds hilarious!
    The pics of your family are cute, especially with big ol’ Lola on the end.
    Glad you had a fun weekend! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Oh man, that lady teaching the class sounds like a riot. Wish I lived near you and could take her class. Beautiful pics as always!

  5. Sounds like a perfect way to spend the weekend! I’m blown away by the number of people in your class! The teacher sounds hilarious! Always makes it so much better when the teacher is engaging and makes things interesting.

    I’m reading this so late, you are almost done with work now! You are getting so close!

Leave a Reply

