Happy Days

Don’t you find when you are reading a book on a certain topic it starts to change your every day behaviour? For example, 6 or 7 years ago I was reading a book about spirituality and how to conserve personal energy. While reading the book, I began to notice how much personal energy I was losing because of how I reacted in daily situations. In the beginning, it was easy to remind myself of the tools I had learned to change my behaviour, but a few months after I finished the book, my old habits started to creep up again. Over the years I have read the same book at least 4 or 5 times until the teachings became ingrained in my memory and changed my behaviour permanently. (Although sometimes I still need a reminder; I read the book again about a year ago during a particularly challenging time in my life.) We’ve probably all heard that it takes doing something repeatedly for an extended period of time to form a habit. When I heard about the #100happydays challenge, I knew it was an opportunity to make a habit out of a healthy behaviour – looking for the good in every day.

Focusing on my blessings was the best coping tool I had when I was frustrated by the adoption/IVF process. Every time I would feel sorry for myself or worried about what the future would bring, I would remind myself how lucky I was to even be able to attempt IVF and pursue adoption. For many people (and even a few people I know personally) those paths to parenthood were not an option due to the heavy financial burden they carry. Reminding myself that there is always a silver lining, and that there are happy moments in even the worst days became a habit for me. Even though I’m not frustrated anymore, positive thinking is healthy and I never want to get out of the habit – which is why I am teaming up with Jo from The Thompson Treehouse to participate in the #100happydays challenge. (That was the first time I’ve ever used a hashtag!) When Jo posted about this challenge on her blog I was intrigued and wanted to participate, but I was worried that 100 days was too much to commit to and I wasn’t sure if I’d be able to complete the task. She said “Don’t let fear of failure get in your way, it’s worth a try!! Let’s do it!! :)” Then I told my husband I was thinking about taking this challenge and he said “You should do it! It would be good for you and also a good way to practise your photography” So I decided to take on the challenge.

Here’s what it’s all about: (from 100happydays.com)

Every day submit a picture of what made you happy!  It can be anything from a meet-up with a friend to a very tasty cake in the nearby coffee place, from a feeling of being at home after a hard day to a favor you did to a stranger. 
 
I will be posting my happy moments on the new page above #100happydays. I’ll be using my camera phone until I get a new camera (I planned to get one soon anyway)
Here’s my first photo:
PicMonkey Collage1
Who’s with us in this challenge?
20 thoughts on “Happy Days

  1. Those cinnamon buns look delicious. There’s actually an app that it’s called 365gratitude. Instead of 100 day challenge it’s a whole year. So once the year ends and those thoughts start creeping in about how bad that year was you can look back and see it was a great year after all.

  2. Brilliant idea! Maybe I missed it but what is the name of the book?
    P.S. Seeing your big baby bump made me happy today! 🙂

  3. I love this challenge, you are so right ; “finding the joy ” is what got me through the dark times of IF… it is one of the main reasons I started to blog, to force me to focus on those things (and of course to vent and let things out, and then it turned out in so much more, but I ramble).

    What I meant to say is you look so, so pretty in that picture. I really wish you all the happy moments.

  4. I’m intrigued by this. I may have to try it. I think it would be really good for me since I tend to focus on the negative way too often.

  5. Oh My! I’d be happy too if I was holding a cinnamon roll like that! Love your positivity mama! Can’t wait to see your pics!

Leave a Reply

