The Three Rs

I’m home in the Maritimes for a couple weeks to visit my family. While I am here, Mom and I are getting some baby shopping done. We picked up bibs, receiving blankets, crib sheets, swaddle blankets and a few outfits. And of course Mom gave me some baby gifts. She wrapped them and used my old doll’s bassinet to present them:

wpid-20140205_165623.jpg

Up until a few weeks ago, Andino and I hadn’t done much to prepare for baby girl’s arrival, but now that I’m (almost) 25 weeks, we’ve decided to start buying things. Our first big purchase was a crib, mattress and changing table from Sears online and they should be arriving early this week. While I’m away, hubby and his brother are working hard to paint baby’s room (and our bedroom and the hallway). They are putting in crown moulding and installing new lighting and window treatment. I’m sure it’s going to look great when I get back! I am so lucky that hubby has a great sense of style when it comes to these things, because I definitely don’t!

We had been looking into strollers for a long time, but we hadn’t found one that we both agreed on and was within our budget. I really wanted a BOB stroller because they are consistently rated as one of the best for all-terrain. A brand new BOB sells for $480 + tax and we were hoping to stay at or under the $400 mark so we kept looking. I’ve been checking kijiji regularly to see if I can find some good deals on baby stuff. I LOVE a good deal. Did I ever mention that I bought my wedding dress second hand? I knew I wanted a lace gown but lace is expensive and I didn’t want to pay $2000 for something I’d only wear once. We found my dress second hand for $500 and it was perfect. Anyway, back to the stroller. I found a good deal on a second hand BOB stroller here in N.S. so I bought it and I’m bringing it back to the prairies with me.

wpid-20140208_194450.jpg

wpid-20140208_194422.jpg

(After taking these photos we scrubbed the stroller and now it’s clean & fresh) Even though we can afford all brand new baby gear, doesn’t mean we are obligated to spend an arm and a leg on stuff. As we all know, babies grow so fast they outgrow things before they are even broken in! Plus, I’m an environmentalist, so I’m all about the three Rs (Reduce, Reuse, Recycle). I’m not buying EVERYTHING for baby second hand, but whenever I can I will.

I’ll be home in the Maritimes for another 9 days and I’m sure hubby will notice I’ve gotten bigger when I get back. After 20 weeks, my bump really started to grow quickly! Here I am this morning at 24 weeks & 5 days:

wpid-20140209_132818.jpg

When I get back from vacation, I only have 12 weeks of work left before I start my Maternity leave. Actually, I’m taking 2 weeks vacation time first and starting my Mat leave June 1. Things are moving so fast now and baby girl will be here before we know it!

13 thoughts on “The Three Rs

  1. Cute bump! It sounds like you are making progress on getting stuff for the baby- I completely agree that other than the crib (b/c standards recently changed), I LOVED getting stuff second hand!

    • Yes the crib and car seat we are getting new. Actually, most of the stuff we will end up getting new but when it’s possible to get stuff second hand it makes me feel good! 🙂

  2. First off your belly is adorable! And secondly I LOVE that you are buying second hand things. My hubby & I always talk about how we will do the same. There are a few things I want new like a mattress, bottles, sheets, etc…. But I agree – whenever we can we will. Your weeks are flying by! Can’t wait to see the nursery.

    • Yes, most of the stuff will have to be new due to hygiene and/or safety concerns, but when possible it’s great to buy second hand. And you are right, the weeks are definitely flying by!!

  3. very exciting that you are starting to get the room ready!! we have purchased three outfits and….nothing else! lol! this weekend I will be 24 weeks and we are thinking to go out looking for cribs as our hot “Valentines” date! my showers are both in March so hopefully we will have lots of gifts and then a month to purchase whatever else we need! it is a lot of “stuff” for small babies!

  4. I can’t believe how fast your pregnancy is going, you look absolutely beautiful. Can I beg you to post pictures of the nursery, I’m a total dork and love looking at them!

    Let me know how you like the BOB stroller, it’s one that I’ve been interested in, but not loving the price. I’d love to know if you really like it.

  5. So fun to start buying stuff!! But seriously I so love that you are buying second hand. It makes me sick what people pay for items that you can easily find gently used for so much less money! You are lucky your husband is into fixing up the house with painting etc. I’m gonna have to hold a gun to my husbands head to get him to paint a bookshelf I want in the baby’s room! Have fun with your family! And you look amazing!

  6. I’m so excited to be reading these types of posts from you. I remember when your IVF’s failed and it seemed like you might not ever get pregnant. I have felt from day one of reading your blog that you would be an amazing mom. I had no doubts you would most definitely become one, it was just a matter of how. I am so happy for you and Andino.

Leave a Reply

