The Big Reveal!

I took a little break from blogging over the holidays. Hubby was travelling so I had the house to myself (and the dogs). There were a few days where I really missed him, but mostly I was just so happy for him that he was spending time with his family and enjoying the summer weather. The fact that he’d be spoiling me with gifts when he got home also helped me to be happy! πŸ˜‰ He got home late Thursday night and since he wasn’t able to wrap my Christmas presents, he took his luggage into the computer room (future baby room!) and brought them out one by one while I closed my eyes. It was fun! In addition to my mountain of gifts, he also picked up some ADORABLE baby clothes. We haven’t really purchased anything for the baby yet, so seeing all the tiny sweaters, shoes and bibs that hubby brought back really made it sink in that we will have a baby soon. I kept repeating “Can you believe we will actually have a baby to wear this in 4.5 months?” It was a great night…

The next day, we had our 20 week ultrasound. It isΒ really hard to believe that I am half way through my pregnancy already! I wasn’t worried going into the ultrasound but it was still such a relief to know that the baby is healthy and developing on target. I was totally on the fence as to weather or not I wanted to know the sex of the baby before delivery, but Andino really wanted to know so we decided to find out. I have had a feeling all along that the baby is a girl, but recently a lot of my colleagues at work have been guessing a boy so I was not sure either way. After showing us the brain, heart, bladder and other body parts, the moment came to announce the sex. The ultrasound tech showed us that between the legs there were three lines. She said “You know what that means?” and I said “It’s a girl!!” Andino and I had huge smiles on our faces when we left the clinic. Hubby admitted in the car that he had been secretly hoping for a girl all along which made my heart so full. I know she is going to be a Daddy’s girl…

I was starving after the ultrasound and we were planning to go straight for lunch after leaving the clinic, but once I knew we are having a girl I said “we have to go buy a dress!” Hubby agreed and we went straight to Winners. Clothes for baby girls are so sweet and of course I haven’t bought anything yet so it was fun to buy the most feminine beautiful dress for our baby girl.

wpid-20140112_095845.jpg

Baby Girl’s feet

wpid-20140112_103058.jpg

Baby Girl’s first dress

Although I wasn’t sure if I wanted to know the sex before delivery, now I’m glad I know. It’s fun to plan a girlie nursery and daydream about our daughter. Plus I think it has helped me feel more connected to her just knowing she’s a girl. Now to think of a name for her!

28 thoughts on “The Big Reveal!

  1. Congratulations! I definitely felt that finding out we’re having a girl helped me connect more with the pregnancy. I love talking to her and about her, and being able to say “she” and “her.” My husband admitted he wanted a girl too, which I think is so sweet.
    The dress is adorable! Enjoy preparing for your little one!!!

  2. I’m so excited you are having a girl!!! I got a little teary at the thought of being able to buy a tiny little dress…

  3. I had a feeling it’s a girl! I’m SO happy for you both! Seeing the ultrasound is so surreal. I’m happy to hear she’s healthy! Can’t wait to see you next month!

  4. That is awesome! I secretly (ok, I guess not so secretly) want a girl too…buying dresses and such is just too much fun, and I’m not even really that girly. Congratulations!

  5. Holy cow! I can’t believe you are halfway there already.
    Congrats on a girl! I might be biased, but baby girls are the best πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

